Tahoe in Ten

The funny thing is, I found Lake Tahoe “by accident.” I was supposed to be heading to Squaw Valley, about 11 miles from the lake. But damn that roundabout where I ended up taking a left rather than the right. I found myself on the eastern shores of Tahoe.

But this is a story of silver linings: Lake Tahoe is one of those geological jewels you are always happy to find. I couldn’t tarry, there was a schedule to keep, but here are 10 pics I managed to snap off before turning the car around:

IMG_1413
The last time I saw water this blue, I was in the tropics.
IMG_0699
I think I am beginning to see what all the the fuss over this lake is about…
IMG_0701
Really. Blue. Water.
image2-5
At two million years old, Lake Tahoe had plenty of time to pound its shores smooth.
IMG_1484
What I remember the most was how damn clear the the air was.
IMG_0695
Yeah, that is the life.
IMG_1469
The usual “Tahoe pic” is a panorama, but shoreline closeups are cool, too.
image3-5
I saw two different souls of Lake Tahoe in the hour I was there: first placid, and then rough when the wind picked up.
image1-5
OK, so I used a filter on this one. It was a great vista, but the original was a bit overexposed. Thanks, Instagram!
IMG_0778
Made it to Squaw Valley in time! And from High Camp you can still see Lake Tahoe and all its azure goodness.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

